Bow and Arrow…like Robin Hood

I have many opinions that I have never put into words. This is one of them.
I worked for many years in an industry that encourage and aided the hunting of animals for sport. It was ironic that I would end up in an industry such as this for more than a few reasons. One being that my father died in a hunting accident when he was accidentally shot by another hunter. Regardless of that fact I found this industry to be exciting and even more intriguing. At first I didn’t think much about the actual killing of an animal. I was a marketing coordinator and so my job included trade shows, advertising and customer service. There was a lot to learn and I was oh so very eager. Such as… “Will twisting or un-twisting the bow string make the draw lighter?” and “Can you change a two cam bow to a one cam without changing the limbs?”
After several years of working in this industry and becoming more familiar with it I realize that this job brought a fair amount of enemies!
There were groups such as PETA that exists solely for the purpose of putting companies such as the one I worked for out of business. This would mean putting me out of a job.
I would just like to say that I personally am an animal lover and I think that PETA does a wonderful job as advocates for those (animals) who have no voice. In fact PETA has nothing to do with what I’m getting at here.
So what am I getting at? Well while I have no problem with PETA there is another small group of people who I have a big problem with! You might not be aware but there are people out there who consider “hunting” to be inhumane. Now since we live in American and considering the whole freedom of speak thing this isn’t a crime you say! I agree.
However, I just have one question for the small group of people who will rally against the hunters of America and then have dinner at the local steakhouse. Why is it ok to breed and slaughter animals for meat to be sold in the market or to be served in a steakhouse but it isn’t ok to go out and hunt and kill your dinner? Doesn’t an animal in the wild have a better chance of survival than the one breed and held in captive only to be slaughtered? How is this more humane?
Ok so that was three questions but you get my point.

PETA

Leave a comment